Hola, Me Llamo Marc Elliot

Despite the fact that I have taken six years of beginning Spanish, I’m still horrible at it. I’m infinitely better at speaking Spanish than understanding it, but that doesn’t say much either. Some people though think I am really proficient because I say certain phrases over and over again. It’s a great disguise!   Here’s what I mean.  Today, I had to find a laundry mat near by my apartment and after searching around I found the cheapest one at $4.75 a load… hey welcome to Manhattan.   Anyway, all of the workers spoke Spanish, so as soon as I walked in I immediately followed with : 

Hola, me llamo Marc Elliot. Mi espanol es muy malo, pero tengo una condicion medico se llama Tourettes syndromo. Tengo, ruido de mi boca y tambien es involunatrio. Gracias para entender.   

I think this translates to:  Hi my name is Marc Elliot.  My Spanish is bad, BUT I have a medical condition called Tourette’s syndrome.  I have noise coming from my mouth and it’s involuntary.  Thanks for being understanding.

Since most of the time people just nod their head, I assume I’m saying the right thing!  When I was in high school I asked my Spanish teacher Senora Roman to help translate my normal “Tourette’s intro speech” into Spanish before I went on my senior spring break trip.  I’m so glad I did, because no matter how little Spanish I know now, I’ll keep that phrase with me forever and people will actually think I’m awesome at speaking Spanish!  Thanks Senora Roman.

This entry was posted in Tourette's Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hola, Me Llamo Marc Elliot

  1. Alba says:

    Hi Marc,
    I am a 25 year old French girl and I just wanted to let you know first, that what you’re doing is wonderful and i do hope it helps people understanding Tourette’s syndrome and be more tolerant toward it, and become more tolerant in general. Life is so complicated that one cannot judge it just by looking to the outward appearance of a person, and thus reduce it to that. Secondly, i wanted to make an adjustment to your spanish phrase, if i may. I would say: Hola, me llamo Marc y tengo el síndrome de Tourette, lo que provoca movimientos y sonidos vocales involuntarios (que incluyen palabras y frases inapropiadas). Gracias por su comprensión!!! Hope to see more videos of you posted in youtube as i do not leave in the US and therefore i cannot attend one of your speeches. Sorry for my english, it is not as good as my spanish unfortunately! Take good care of you.

  2. Lilysgramma says:

    Hello Marc! I am writing for 2 reasons actually, number one is to give you big kudos for your work and accomplishments. As the mother of a 27 year old son with Tourette’s, let me just say you are doing a wonderful job! Second, I wanted to let you know that I wrote my research essay on Tourette’s in college (yes, I am a returning college student at the ripe old age of 51). As part of that paper, I did a written interview with my son and have posted it on my blog. I also put one of your you tube videos on that blog entry and am hoping that this is ok with you. If not, please let me know and I will remove it. I posted my blog with your video because it was a wonderful way to help people to become more aware of the disorder and not to take it so lightly. Thank you for your wonderful insight and keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

